Like water for the desert, New Media for New Mexico

Free and/or Fabulous

Hello fellow art geeks,

Well, my macbook finally crashed and I have been too busy to deal with it. My mom let me borrow her old laptop, it’s maybe six years old and running Windows XP. At first I thought this was a fate worse than, than… anything a relatively new mac snob could possibly absorb.

So I started researching Linux. Which led me to researching free, open-source software. Which led me to wondering why I think I need to ever spend so much money again on software. Probably not on hardware, either. Here’s a photo of cute otter so you won’t be bored by an image-free post:

cute_otter

Moving on – I haven’t made the switch yet. But let me share with you the best links I have so far for this whole new world:

1. Best of Linux apps
http://linuxpanda.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/list-of-all-time-best-top-must-have-apps-for-linux/#3dsuite

This is a great blog and a great link.

2. Projection mapping ecstasy
http://www.projection-mapping.org/index.php/projectiontools/software

Another great place. Has some free, some paid, but looks very on top of things. Rah!!!! Info, products, links, all kinds of useful stuff, run by a couple of media PhDs. Right freaking on!!!

3. VJ software? Hmmmmm
https://flxer.net/software/

I’m trying to get the vibe of this one… I’m posting it because I’m wondering how well it compares to Resolume, which we used in the iDEAlab quite a bit. It seems interesting.

OK, food for thought!!
XOXO
BJ

PS: I’m probably going to use Ubuntu’s OS 12.04 release and go nuts. I want non-commerical vvvv in a bad way but I bet my little 1.6GHz throwaway laptop can’t handle it.

Leave a Reply

