Like water for the desert, New Media for New Mexico

“New Mexico Brane Cosmology”

Yep, here it is at last. My senior iDEA project.

It includes steel sculpture, projection, sound, and arduino-controlled LEDs. The projection consists of time-lapse photography from Southwestern New Mexico landscapes and starscapes, plus slowed-down footage of me (well, of my hands and feet) playing around in my yard.

In the video I explain with some text breaks the nature of “Brane Cosmology.” So I won’t spoil it for you by writing about that specifically. However, I will say I love combining science, particularly astrophysics and quantum physics, into my art. To me there is so much wonder to be found there, and in New Mexico, where nature, people, and art coincide so well together. Every night I can feel the heartbeat of the universe when I close my car door and walk to my house under the clear night sky.

The iDEA program here at WNMU has been amazing for me. I never knew how enchanted I would be with combining so many disciplines. I’m like a kid in a candy store here. I feel like my journey as an interdisciplinary artist is just beginning.

Leave a Reply

