Like water for the desert, New Media for New Mexico

Art for Fun

I just spent a solid week in Los Angeles looking at art, from the Stone Age to stuff made this year.  One piece of art at the LACMA made a very strong impression on me, I spent several minutes looking at it from every angle, absorbing it, interacting with it, photographing it, and revisited it 2 more times while at the museum. The second I saw it, I said “ooohhh” and made a beeline for it.  The piece was an outdoor installation of dangling yellow tubes that you could walk through like a rack of hanging spaghetti. The area was full of kids, running, swinging, and hiding in the tubes like little fish in a sea anemone. As near I can tell, this piece had no message other than to be fun.  As I looked at art over the weekend, and thought about what my own art direction will be, I can say with certainty that I want to make art that is fun.

Penetrabile by Jesus Rafeael Soto

One response

  1. nice pic anna!

    June 7, 2012 at 7:44 pm

Leave a Reply

